Gluten Free and Gluten Full Mince Pies

With Christmas now being less than 2 weeks away, I decided it was about time I actually made some mince pies! I know they aren’t the best thing for you, but I always feel more comfortable eating one or two (granted high calorie) homemade ones as I know not only the ingredients that have gone in but also the quality of them. Besides, there’s nothing wrong with the occassional indulgent treat. So with numerous work fuddles and events happening I thought it was the perfect excuse to make some goodies. There are some people at work with various food intolerances so it gives me another reason to keep testing gluten free baking (particularly as my partner isn’t too keen on GF so always requests where possible gluten full).

I admit that I am still slightly tweaking the recipe for Gluten Free but these did turn out really well, it just took a little more patience that the other ones, but nevertheless stick with it and they will turn out ok (well at least in my humble opinion). I will update once I’ll played around with the recipe a bit more but I was rather happy at my first attempt at gluten free mince pies so I couldn’t just leave it.

The recipe is essentially the same just swap plain flour for Gluten Free plain of the same ratio. There’s just a slight tweak to the method towards the end for the Gluten Free ones, so rather than repeat myself, I’ll just shout up where to change what you do slightly differently.

All you need for this is a mixing bowl and a metal muffin tin.

Ingredients
350g Plain Flour (GF if needs be)
200g Icing Sugar + extra for dusting
225g Cold Unsalted Butter (it’s important that it’s cold but cut it into cubes to make it easier to work with)
410g Mincemeat (the size of a normal jar)

image

Method
1. Preheat the oven to 180°c, rub together the flour, sugar and butter . As the butter is cold this will take a while and it will seem like it’s really crumbly and not working but stick with it, it will all of a sudden come into a ball that you can work with.

2. Once it’s come together into a ball, knead briefly until smooth.

3. Separate off 2/3 of the dough, this will be your bottoms.  Split into 12 small balls and flatten into the bottom and sides of the muffin tin, aim to make the pastry level so it will cook equally.

4. Fill with the mincemeat; I like a generous portion so it uses the whole jar!

image

5. Take the remaining dough and again split into 12, flatten these down so it cover the top of the mince pies and press into the sides so it’s all flush. Put a couple of holes in the lid to allow a bit of steam to come out.

6. Bake for 10-15 minutes until golden brown.

7. Leave in the tray to cool then remove and put on a cooling rack. For the Gluten Free Mince Pies leave overnight so the butter can completely cool, they are incredibly brittle at this stage even once the tin itself it cool. You can remove them gently from the tin, I found the best was by pressing a skewer down each side until you feel it move ever so slightly then tip the tin upside down. But they are incredibly brittle and can just crumble in your hand. If you manage to get them out then leave them to cool overnight and they are a lot firmer, I would recommend leaving in the tin for a good few hours to thoroughly cool before removing.

image

8. Once cooled, dust with icing sugar and enjoy

image

Nutritional Information
Serves 12
410 Calories
3.2g Protein
59.5g Carbohydrates
0.8g Fibre
38.5g Sugar
17.1g Fat ( 9.9g are Saturated Fats)

One thought on “Gluten Free and Gluten Full Mince Pies

Leave a Reply

