New Year = Not So New Me

As it’s New Year’s Eve and everyone’s starting to think about New Year’s resolutions, I’ve been trying to think of a couple to also go with my December Resolution. I am wary of making too many big resolutions as I know statistically most are broken by the 6 month mark (that’s if you even make it past January) so I’m not going for a brand new me in 2016, just a slightly tweaked version. It also helps that the nature of some of my Christmas presents aid my new resolutions.

Christmas Goodies

I’ve tried to think of just a few that will be achievable but also slightly stretching. There’s a fine line between inspiring and daunting in my eyes so I’ve tried to find the balance. This means I only really have 4 including my original resolution.

    1. Get back to a place where I feel confident in myself – through eating the foods that make me feel good and also working out as nothing beats those post workout endorphins.
    2. Run a 10k – I already have my eye on one that I think would be good fun for the middle of the year. I would never have considered even running a 5k two years ago so I’m hoping this won’t be too much of a stretch.
    3. Try at least 1 new recipe a week, whether it be cooking or baking – given I got a whole host of new cookbooks for Christmas and an ice cream maker this should be fairly easy.
    4. Be more mindful and more present – I have found that when I was going to Pilates not only was I more flexible but I was also more aware of things such as my posture so I started to notice when my back would hurt from not sitting straight or how out of alignment my hips are when I’m standing in a queue. Since for one reason or another I haven’t been going more recently, these things seem to be slipping, so I’m going to get back into Pilates but I have also started reading up on Mindfulness and being more present in situations, responding rather than reacting, which should also help me stick with resolution No.1 as well.

Mindfulness Book

I think that all of these go rather nicely together so should help me be able to tick them all of at the end of the year.

What are your resolutions for the New Year?

2 thoughts on “New Year = Not So New Me

Leave a Reply

