Butternut Squash and Sweet Potato Soup

As promised, I am kicking of the New Year with my first new recipe. This is has been slightly tweaked from one of my new cookbooks. As you may have noticed from some of my previous posts, I love a good soup! I just find it so much easier to make a big pot up and then have enough to last me the rest of the week so I don’t have to worry about making lunch for work the next day, my evenings can be spent relaxing.

I do normally prefer a chunkier soup, but I have to admit sometimes there is nothing better than a smooth, creamy soup. As I started to read through the first few pages this recipe just called out to me, so I knew it had to be the first one I made. Now it isn’t the recipe given for January 1st (I know, rebel), but it is still a wintery dish.

Soup Cookbook

The only thing I have really changed is I have swapped out normal potatoes for sweet potatoes as I prefer them, but you can go for normal if you’re not a big sweet potato fan.

Ingredients

900g Butternut Squash, halved with the skin still on and seeds removed

350g Sweet Potato, cubed

1.2 Litres of Vegetable Stock (Gluten Free if necessary)

100ml Single Cream

40g butter

20151229_110631

Method

    1. Preheat the oven to 160oc, place the two halves of the butter squash on a lined roasting tin and put half of the butter on and around the squash. Place in the oven to roast for an hour until it’s soft and tender.
    2. After about 45 minutes of the squash being in the oven, take large saucepan and melt the remaining butter. Once the butter is melted add the sweet potato and the stock.
    3. Bring to the boil then allow to simmer for around 15 minutes or until the sweet potato is soft.
    4. Take the squash out of the oven and allow it to cool slightly before scooping out the flesh and add to the saucepan with the rest of the soup.
    5. Now you need to blend the soup until smooth. If you have a handheld blender you can do this in the plan, if like me you have a food processer then you can move the soup into the processer and blitz until smooth. As I had to do this in portions I had another saucepan on hand to pour the smooth soup into.
    6. Once all the soup is smooth, added the cream and ensure the soup is still hot before serving, depending on how long it has taken you to blend it may have gone a bit cold so may need a gradual reheat before serving.

20151229_121813

image

Nutritional Information

Serves 6

209 Calories

2.9g Protein

32.5g Carbohydrates

4.8g Fibre

8.1g Sugar

8.4g Fat ( 5.3g are Saturated Fats)

 

Leave a Reply

