Sun-Dried Tomato and Harissa Paste Turkey Burgers

20160109_122543

I would have posted last week as keeping to my New Year’s Resolution I have been trying a new recipe every week. However the soup I made for my work lunches was not to my liking so I’ve not shared this one.

But alas, this week, courtesy of a Christmas present from my best friend (a new healthy eating cookbook), I have found an amazing one. This is from Amelia Freer’s book ‘Cook, Nourish, Glow’. I made double the portion from the book as I wanted enough to last me for lunches over the weekend and whilst I’m at work. I found these really easy to make these as a big patch knowing that I have nothing to worry about in the evening when I’m tired after work as everything is already prepped. Not only is it a ridiculously easy recipe to make (once you’ve found all the ingredients, it took me about 10 minutes to locate the harissa paste in Asda), it’s absolutely delicious. Even my boyfriend, who is not a turkey fan, was impressed and said ‘I’m actually quite jealous of you now’. That’s a win if I ever heard one.

The recipe below is for 8 portions. I did this as 8 large burgers, on reflection you could do it as 16 smaller burgers and have 2 for each portion. I will probably do this when I make them again but I just went for 8 large ones. The recipe in the book is for 4 burgers, so the below is easy to divide if you only want to make 4. I served these with a few different things, on Sunday it was with lettuce, tomatoes and a few veggies but today it was with quinoa and veggies. So I have pictured it with a lettuce and tomato bun, but you could put it with anything.

Ingredients

1Kg Turkey Mince

12 Sun-Dried Tomatoes (finely chopped)

4 Shallots (finely chopped)

2 Egg Yolks

4 Tablespoons Fresh Herbs – I used Parsley ( finely chopped)

2 Garlic Cloves (Crushed)

2 Teaspoons Harissa Paste

2 Gem lettuces

Handful of Cherry Tomatoes

Pinch of Pepper to season

Coconut Oil to grease baking trays 

 20160109_104538

Method

  1. Add the turkey, sun-dried tomatoes, shallots, egg yolks, garlic and herbs into a large mixing bowl. Thoroughly mix together. Then add the harissa paste and pepper to season and mix again.
  2. Take out a plate or baking tray (one that you won’t need later). Separate the mixture into 8 portions and make into patties. Put them onto the plate, cover with cling film and leave in the fridge to cool for at least half an hour.20160109_105843
  3. Once the half an hour has passed preheat the oven to Gas Mark 6. Melt the coconut oil onto your baking trays and then place the patties onto them. Cook in the oven for 20-25 minutes, ensuring you turn them over half way through.
  4. Serve on a lettuce bun with tomatoes and a side of vegetables.

20160109_122543 20160109_122503

Nutritional Information (for the burgers only, not the sides)

Serves 8

208 Calories

25.1g Protein

4.4g Carbohydrates

0.9 Fibre

2.3g Sugar

10g Fat ( 0.5g are Saturated Fats)

 

4 thoughts on “Sun-Dried Tomato and Harissa Paste Turkey Burgers

  1. This looks great! What was wrong with your soup? Whenever a soup flops for me (and yes occasionally the unthinkable happens…) I just keep adding more stuff till I like it. That’s why I love soups :).

    Like

    1. Thanks! It was lovely!
      I don’t know, I think it was too sweet. I did my normal trick of swapping out white potatoes for sweet potatoes and i think that and the parsnip just made it far too sweet. I will keep tinkering though 🙂

      Like

  2. Ohhh. I do that all the time too. I even made a vichyssoise with sweet potatoes once and people liked it. But I’ve never tried parsnips in a soup, although I do love them. Was there any lemon juice in the recipe? Maybe that would have helped… or booze. That seems to fix anything :).

    Like

Leave a Reply

