Bakewell Tart

I’ve been busy training for my upcoming 10k (less than 10 weeks to go now, eeek!) I’ve only just built up to running 5 miles and I’m actually enjoying it a lot more than I thought I would. Although, despite knowing I live in a hilly area and even through my ‘mapmyrun’ app saying I would climb over 200 feet, I didn’t appreciate quite how hilly it was until my fitbit said that within the 5 miles I had gone up the equivalent of 60 flights of stairs. Needless to say, I was shattered afterwards.
image

So, this in mind, I decided I would treat myself to a few bits over the weekend and I spent most of Saturday, after a cracking spin class, in the kitchen baking and cooking to my heart’s content. I will include bits of everything I’ve made over the weekend but one particular favourite was a Bakewell tart. I was trying to think of something that I could make for pudding on Saturday but would also be suitable for the boy to have as a bit of pudding during the week, so I cut the rest up into Bakewell slices for him J

I did end up making two through the recipe below but that was only because I didn’t have a tray big enough so I made two slightly smaller but no less delicious ones instead.

Ingredients

For the pastry

175g Plain Flour
75g butter
2-3 Tbsp Water

For the sponge mixture

100g Butter
100g Caster Sugar
175g Self-Raising Flour
1 Tsp Baking Powder
2 Large Eggs
2 Tbsp Milk
½ Tsp Almond Extract
For Filling
6 Tbsp Cherry Jam

For Top
Handful Flaked Almonds
image

Method

  1. To make the pastry, in a large bowl rub together the flour and butter until you have fine breadcrumbs, then slowly add the water until you have a smooth dough.
  2. Roll the dough out on a lightly floured worktop until it’s large enough to line the tin.
  3. Spread the jam evenly over the pastry
  4. Preheat the oven to 180⁰c (fan oven), then to make the sponge layer add all the ingredients together and beat until you have a smooth mixture and spread this over the jam layer.
  5. Sprinkle the top with the flaked almond and put in the oven for 15-20 minutes until the top has started to go a light brown colour.
  6. Leave to cool in the tin then you can cut into slices before removing or if you’ve done it in smaller tins like I have you may be able to remove it in one piece from the tin without the need to cut it up first

image

Nutritional Information

Serves 16
Calories: 213
Protein: 3.7g
Carbohydrates: 34.1g
Of which is sugars: 18.7g
Fibre: 1.1g
Fat: 6.9g
Of which is saturated: 3.1g

Leave a Reply

