Breakfast Frittata

With spring just around the corner, I’ve been looking to change up from normal porridge breakfasts for something a little bit different. When I’m busy thinking and researching about what would be good, it needs to fill 3 criteria. 1. Tasty 2. Filling 3. (Potentially most important) able to be batch cooked and/or easy to eat at work.
image

As my training for my 10K is really starting to ramp up, I’ve been particularly hungry. I’ve started running 7 miles to ensure I have the stamina to do the 6.2 miles and my aim is to be able to sprint the last 500 metres or so. It’s going well, I’m feeling really positive about it, my most recent run was 6 minutes quicker than the previous one! I still find it odd how much I’m enjoying the training, again, if this had been even 6 months ago, I never would have considered running 10K let alone with still 7 weeks to go I would be regularly running 7 miles.

But anyway, I digress, breakfast time! I spent my Sunday’s locked away in the kitchen batch cooking my breakfast, lunch, snacks and my boyfriend’s breakfast and lunch for the week, so where possible I like these to be as fuss free and use hardly any pots and pans. This is where I stumbled across a recipe for a frittata done in the slow cooker, see here, but I have tweaked it slightly.

Ingredients

6 Eggs

100g feta

75g Baby Chestnut Mushrooms

2 Medium Courgettes

100g Cherry Tomatoes

12 tbsp Water

1 tsp Paprika

2 tsp Mixed Italian Herbs
image

Method

  1. Grease the slow cooker and start to pre-heat on high
  2. Roughly chop the mushrooms and gently fry until browned. Then put to one side.
  3. Grate all the courgette, once this is done, drain all the water, I found putting it in a sieve helped to be able to really squeeze as much as possible out, then pat dry on some kitchen roll until no more water comes out.
  4. Beat the eggs in a large bowl/container, once all mixed add the water and mix again.
  5. Add all the other ingredients into the mixture and then tip into the slow cooker.
  6. Cook on high for 2-3 hours.
  7. Cut up until portions then remove from the slow cooker (I would never have been able to remove it whole but if you can then good on you!)

image

Nutritional Information

Serves 4

Calories: 193
Protein: 13.3g
Carbohydrates: 2.2g
Of which is sugars: 1.3g
Fibre:0.8g
Fat: 14.3g
Of which is saturated: 5.0g

Leave a Reply

