Gluten Free Vegan Lentil Chilli

​As the British Summer that never began has now come to a close, I’ve started swapping my salads for stews and chia puddings for chocolate quinoa (recipe to come). What I love most about this type of weather is that it’s so easy to batch cook for the week ahead which for someone like me is perfect, if I don’t have all my meals planned and usually prepared then I end up all off track and before I know it I’ve eaten a whole bag of granola bars in one sitting. But when I get planning, boy, do I plan.


So, all ready to get the saucepans out, I’ve also been experimenting with some more vegan dishes and there are just so many recipes out there to try that suit this brief! I was getting some inspiration on pinterest and stumbled upon this little beauty from littlebroken.com that has made the last couple of days at work when it’s wet and windy.
Ingredients

450g Red Lentils

1 Onion

1 Red Pepper

2 Tins of Tomatoes

950ml Vegetable Stock (gluten free if necessary)

4 cloves Garlic

4 tsp Chilli (mild or hot depending on your preference)

1 tbsp mixed herbs

2 tbsp Preferred Oil (I went with coconut)

Handful fresh Parsley


Method

1. Finely chop the onion and add to a saucepan pan with the melted oil on medium heat, once they start to brown add in the crushed garlic cloves and chopped red pepper and cook for another of minutes. 

2. Add in the chilli powder and herbs then stir in, incorporate the lentils and once all coated add the tomatoes and stock.

3. Bring to the boil, then reduce to a simmer and cook for around 50 minutes or until the lentils are soft.

4. Take half the mixture and pulse in a food processor until smooth then add back into the original mixture.

5. Top off with a bit of chopped parsley and serve.


Nutritional Information

Serves 7

Calories: 293

Protein: 17.9g

Carbohydrates: 32.4g

Of which is sugars: 8.1g

Fibre: 10.9g

Fat: 7.5g

Of which is saturated: 3.8g

Leave a Reply

