Trombone Squash Rounds

​As ever, things have been getting on top of me slightly these last few months, I am working on it, promise! But apologises for the long gap between posts. I’ve been in a slight rut recently just eating the same meals over and over again so haven’t felt too inspired to write about any recipes but I realised that I’ve become slightly obsessed with a particular side dish. So I thought I’d share this one as it may appeal ☺

My dad has an allotment not too far from my parents house which means throughout the year I get gifted with all sorts of goodies from summer berries to winter squashes. And the big plus is that I know no chemicals have been used to help them grow, it’s just all natural goodness. It does however mean I get various things that I then can’t always find in the supermarket.  Recently there has been trombone squash a plenty at my parents house and I’ve not been able to eat them quick enough (trust me, not for lack of trying). When I first got given one of these I had no idea how to cook it and as I don’t normally cook similar stews to my mum I’ve been experimenting.

I stumbled into this really simple recipe and just became a bit obsessed with it, it’s just little squash rounds or wedges (how I cut them seems to change daily) with paprika and veggie seasoning, all bunged in the oven until soft on the inside and starting to crisp on the outside. Sounds simple but I love it.

Ingredients
450g trombone squash (peeled and cut into circles)

1 tbsp.  Coconut Oil

2 tsp paprika

2 tsp concentrated vegetable seasoning (e.g. maggi)

Method

1. Pre heat the oven to 200°c, place the coconut oil on the tray and place in the oven until the coconut oil has melted.

2. Ensure the oil covers the tray and sprinkle half of the vegetable seasoning and paprika so it mixes in the oil slightly. Add the rounds evenly spaced on the tray and sprinkle over the remaining seasonings.

3. Place in the oven for roughly 15 minutes, turning after about 10 minutes. 

4. Once the rounds have started to go a bit soft in the middle, turn the oven down to roughly 150°c to start crisp up the  edges slightly without burning for 5 minutes.

5. Take out the oven and serve alongside your main dish.

Nutritional Information

Serves 1

Calories: 150

Protein: 3.1g

Carbohydrates: 31g

Of which is sugars: 12.4g

Fibre: 12.4g

Fat: 0.0g

Of which is saturated: 0.0g

Leave a Reply

